Shame on you Houston!


      I am angry! I am pissed beyond belief! Why? Because 187 dogs were killed for being nothing but pit bulls in Houston, Texas. Let me be clear, I am not addressing the people of Houston but the leadership.  The Houston SPCA, the Law Enforcement and the Attorney Generals Office.  I know that there are responsible pit bull owners in the city of Houston and the state of Texas. 

     Houston, let us be honest. Denver, Colorado and any other community practicing Breed Specific Legislation have a least been up front in their discrimination and ignorance about the pit bull. They have legislation, rules and procedures in how to deal with a threat that they perceive. YOU, on the other hand Houston, just kill the dogs out of hand. There is little or no evaluation, but to say you are protecting the public.

     FROM WHAT? Dogs that have been abused? Dogs that are confused, frightened and in circumstances way beyond their control, therefore they are reacting as an animal is prone to do? By barking, baring teeth, and lunging. Trying to defend what little dignity they have left. Dignity stripped from them by the hands of the ‘people’ who where suppose to care for them, feed them and give them shelter.

     So, instead of investing time, patience and training, Assistant DA Belinda Smith chose to euthanize the dogs as a ‘gift’ to them.

    Wow. That’s some gift. The Houston SPCA, the city of Houston in general, has a vendetta against the pit bull. Pit bulls that go into the system DO NOT come out. They are euthanized. They are NOT put up for adoption.

     This sounds a lot like some sort of ethnic cleansing. Kill all the pit bulls. Once they are all gone what breed will be next? What breed will be the next boogeyman?

     I am against Breed Specific Legislation, but at least the communities practicing BSL are honest. Houston is operating in the shadows and picking and choosing who should live and who should die.

     Shame on you Houston.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Breed Specific Legislation, Dogs, Pit Bulls, Politics, Responsibility and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

