Pit Bulls in Lipstick


Pit bulls in Lipstick, what a thought. When Republican Vice-Presidential Candidate Sarah Palin made the comment, “I love those hockey moms. You know, they say the difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull? Lipstick.”

I thought to myself well wouldn’t that be a sight, a bunch of pit bulls driving mini-vans or SUV’s, coiffed and adorned with lipstick taking their charges hither and yon. You have to admit that your funny bone has to be tickled just a little. And if the pit bulls had opposable thumbs and driver licenses, they’d do it too!

I think she meant the traits of tenacity and endurance when she referred to the pit bulls. Perhaps, she is familiar with the breed. They have been a family dog, working dog and was have even been honored as heros.

But like most things or people who are tenacious and stubborn, they have a tendency to be misunderstood and labeled ‘difficult’, ‘high risk’ or even ‘dangerous’. I hope that as Ms. Palin is taking the national stage, that she will remember that pit bulls are not only tenacious and fearsome looking, but they are more than meets the eye. They have a dignity and gentleness that is seldom acknowledged by their detractors.

Ms. Palin may be ready to fight during this campaign, but I hope that she exhibits grace and dignity as she embarks on this journey.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Elections, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

