Playing with My Inner-Child


I truly believe that one of the worst things that a person can do is lose sight of their inner-child in the maze of their mind.  Even worse is never finding them again.  To never be able to embrace the joyful kinetic energy that only a child can have, leads to stultified people walking the earth with no hope and no creativity. 

I believe that it is absolutely essential to break out in uncontrollable laughter at the least provocation, see wonder in everything, and when a dog gives you slobbery kisses, know that you have been cured of the doldrums and given a precious gift.  A smile is a necessary weapon in my arsenal against aging and being a grown-up and taking lessons from babies in giggling is vital in my war against conformity and depression.

When I find myself weighed down by my very real responsibilities, I look for my inner-child.  That’s when I find that I’ve lost sight of her in my mental labyrinth.  Instead of rushing willy-nilly looking for her, losing myself further in my daze of duties, sit myself down quietly.  Clearing my mind of all things and I let my inner-child find me.  She might sneak up on me from behind and pounce on me or she might approach me in plain sight, but no matter the approach she wants to be a part of my life.

I’m the one who loses her.  I get too caught up in the details of life to enjoy the things that free me, that’s when my inner-child comes and gooses me good and gets my attention.  But when I’m too stressed out, she has to go away until I’m ready to listen to her again.  

Embracing my inner-child has nothing to do with never growing up or never taking responsibility in my life.  Instead, it keeps me open to the miracles in my life.  Flexible when the gale-force winds of change buffet me.  Grateful for each day I’ve been given here with my family and friends.  My inner-child allows me to live in the present, hope for the future and leave the past where it belongs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Inner-Child and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

