We Thank Thee O God For A Prophet



On the evening of January 27, 2008, the world lost one of its truly great men. His greatness did not come from vast monetary wealth, nor from the accumulation of things; instead, it came from humility, wisdom, kindness, steadfastness, compassion, charity, and a vast love of his fellow man. This man, this humble man, was Gordon B. Hinckley, President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

In his long life, he held fast to his compass. That compass was the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Through the turbulent seas of life, he always saw the clearest path to go because he never let loose of that compass.
He had a way of seeing clearly to the heart of a matter, whether it was popular or not, because the Lord’s way is not always the popular way. Then he would get his point across firmly without raising his voice, but always you knew that a point had been made.

Gordon B. Hinckley was also a man who had a grand sense of humor, never belittling or vile, but truly enjoyed a good and honest laugh and was often seen with a smile on his face.

The world is left bereft without this great light. I am a simple sister in this world, who knew this man from a distance, and I feel the poignant sting of his loss. Though I feel the sting, I take comfort in knowing the Gospel Plan that Families Are Forever. That this man is not truly gone from us, he has simply gone on to greater calling.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Gordon B. Hinckley, Humility, LDS, Mormon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

