When Politics Get Personal


I’m sick and tired of listening to the 2008 political candidates try and assassinate each others personal beliefs and hygiene rather than their stands on the actual political issues. Of course, until the actual Republican and Democratic candidates are chosen, the individual politics are so similar, that each candidate is reduced to getting a famous friend (i.e. Obama and Oprah) and/or attacking each others religion (Huckabee and Romney) to name some more notable examples. We are watching sandbox politics at their finest. Pretty soon someone will start throwing sand; it will get in someone eyes and people will start crying. A teacher will have to come in and separate the candidates and call the nurse in to soothe the wounded candidates and distribute lollipops to make them feel better. Then back to the sandbox they go nursing their grudges until a victor is declared (i.e. the party nomination) and then the real back-biting begins.

I’ve had it! Talk to me about what matters to me. I want to know what you, as a candidate, would do with my hard-earned tax dollars. When will our troops come home and how will we help resolve the situation in Iraq (notice I said resolve, not solve). How is the government going to help the average citizen against the criminally minded of the world? How will the government help pay the teachers of the nation better, help our ailing education systems, eradicate poverty, and help us manage our resources better?

I don’t care what religion a person is and I don’t care who are their famous friend’s are, as long as they have a track record of responsible governmental stewardship. They can be purple with pink polka-dots for all I care; I want someone in office who is genuinely concerned about the needs of the people and vote appropriately.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Elections, Huckabee, Mitt Romney, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

