Reckless Drivers


I’m tired of reckless drivers using the residential roads as their own personal speedways, particularly in the early morning. The posted speed limited is 25 MPH for a very good reason, FOR SAFETY. Every morning I walk my dog in early in the morning and I witness no less than four cars that consistently speed through my neighborhood at speeds greater than the posted speed limit of 25MPH. Oftentimes I find myself dragging my dog onto the grass as cars speed toward me, not slowing down, trying to identify what I am.

I am a safe walker. I wear light colors with reflective stripes, my dog is white and easily seen, and I walk by the curb to maximize my safety. I live in an active neighborhood filled with children, runners, and other dog walkers. Reckless drivers are not only a problem in the early morning, but in other more well lit times. In broad daylight I see the moms in the mini-van with kids in the car, phone to their ears bombing down my road faster than the posted speed limit only to slam on their brakes at the stop sign at the bottom of the hill, because she wasn’t paying attention. If a child, a dog, a teenager on a skateboard/bike, or an adult had suddenly stepped out in front of her, a terrible tragedy would have unfolded.

As I see these reckless drivers in my neighborhood I send up a prayer every time that no harm will come to anyone in their path, and that all four wheels will come off their vehicle to stop them from driving. The damage that a vehicle can do to a human body is horrific. Until you have personally witness this, you have no clue.

Everyday that we get behind the wheel, we are responsible for what we do. We operate a formidable machine that can be of great help in our daily lives and used irresponsibly can cause terrible damage. Please think before you drive.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Responsibility. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

