Running Away



I am annoyed. Scratch that. I am overwhelmed, annoyed and generally irritated and I want to run away and leave all my responsibilities, with the exception of my dog, behind and not look back. I want to light a match and flick it over my shoulder and let it catch in the kindling of my life and let it burn so that I might start anew.

Walking away and not looking back is such the polar opposite of my core personality that it has such appeal. But the bitter reality is that I am too much of a responsible person to every do such a thing. So I face my responsibilities and I work to resolve any issues that I have. I work to improve my situation, my self and any talents that I have, knowing that self-fulfillment will be the end result. A quick fix is a sweet and tempting fantasy, but the filling nutritious reality of hard work and perseverance are enduring and eternal.

I can’t leave my family or my friends. My life would be empty without their love and support. Really, if I was to be completely honest, I would take them all with me, then they’d take all their loved ones with them and in the end the whole world would be right back in my space again.

So, while I might be annoyed and overwhelmed at the moment with life and the world, it’s my life and my world and it is what I choose to make of it that makes it worth living in.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running Away

  1. Mayhem says:

    What a spectacular bonfire you could have!! I’ll sell tickets – and we’ll split the profits! 😉

Leave a Reply

