Remembering the Year 2001



Today is the sixth anniversary of September 11th. For Americans, this date is associated with so many emotions. For those whose birthdays fall on this day, for those who have other celebratory occasions a shadow mars marking of their rites of passage a pall now falls over a day that should be a day of celebration. But for every one who lost a person, whether it was a father, mother, brother, sister, daughter, son, lover, spouse, or friend, and their lives were irrevocably scarred, the way that a soldier is when wounded, a hole torn in their psyche, always there. For me it was one more thing to mark a terrible year. My father’s passing marked the beginning of the year; then six months to the day the terrorist attack of September 11th added heartbreak of the year. September 11, 2001 is a day that is now linked with infamy, like December 7, 1941, or April 19, 1995. The date cannot be said without people thinking about where they were or what they were doing.

But here is what I take away from the year 2001. The human heart and mind are resilient and amazing organs. Because, despite the devastation and personal loss suffered by so many that year. People are still filled with hope. People’s hearts still have holes where loved ones lost should be, but their hearts continue to function and their capacities to love and learn have not been diminished. Those lost are remembered through the great and small works that are being done in their memories to honor them.

To dwell on the events are not productive. To protect ourselves from events repeating themselves again is prudent. To remember is human. To live our lives is to show those who would harm us that they may not control us through fear. I will not live in fear, but I will do what I can to make this world a better place.

Tragedy will always happen, but how we respond to its aftermath will show us who is touched by grace. We have enough knee-jerk reaction in the world, it is time to see the world by the heart that has been broken and still beats for it’s brother. It is time to see our brothers and sisters through the eyes of divinity.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Patriotism, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

