Bearing Witness


I know that a lot has been said about the state of affairs of Michael Vick, but I have to say my bit. I hope that the man serves time in jail and that he loses his NFL standing. Because as 5 p.m. today the owners of the 50 pitbulls, seized from the property owned by Michael Vick in the State of Virginia, have to step forward to claim dogs if not, all fifty will be euthanized. Now, I’m not saying that I believe that the dogs could be rehabilitated. They were all in a dog fighting environment, that will have affected them in some fashion. I do not know if I could ever trust one of those dogs with a child in my care. I believe that it is 95% environment that effects a dog and 5% temperment. And their formative environment has been too traumatic.

But back to my point. 50 innocent dogs, 50 innocent creatures, are being put down because of the greed and profiteering of this man and his friends. I do not feel that he should represent any sport, product, or group. He should be shunned and stripped of his possesions. He should not be afforded luxury nor fame. He should be treated just as those dogs were treated. Fought to exhaustion, patched up and fought again and again. If he showed that he was strong enough, maybe forced to breed. Until one day he failed, then he would be put down unceremoniously. Unmourned, uncared for, his body dumped in a hole in the ground in some back field. Callusly discarded, as he discarded life.

Some might say that I am valuing the dog over the human. I say no, I am not. I am valuing life in general. It has been proven over and over. Men and women who abuse animals turn around and abuse people, thereby creating a terrible cycle of abuse. The Michael Vick story is not just about dogfighting and animal abuse, it is about abusive behavior and an entire sub-strata of culture that glorifies violence. There is an entire sub-strata of our culture that has bought into the glorification of violence. The pimp’s and ho’s, the objectification of the body, both male and female. The denigration of holy things and the acceptance of the unholy.

Michael Vick has said “I’m guilty”, but nothing about his demeanor has changed. He walks to and fro in his designer suits knowing that he will have his money when he gets out of jail and that his reputation will only be enhanced by his encarceration.

Here’s the thing, the ONLY thing that matters, this life is the key to the next. Our Father in Heaven marks every deed and every action in our individual books of life. How we conduct ourselves here in this life will lead us to glory or damnation. Those we help and those we harm will bear witness for and against us during our final Judgment. They are the witness of our lifes. The innocent animals will also bear witness of cruelties and kindnesses borne. After tonight, I would not want to be Vick. Not after 50 more dogs are ready to bear witness on his judgement day.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Michael Vicks, Pit Bulls. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bearing Witness

  1. Mayhem says:

    You are a very articulate person who puts forth the situation and argument in a very comprehensive manner. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this horrible situation.

    Also – you’ve changed your blog template. Lookin’ good!!

Leave a Reply

