Events


This has been a really tramatic and marvelous month. Two dear friends lost their fathers due to illness. And the first baby Gaskin boy was born on May 30, 2006 at 9:16pm. That brings the niece/nephew count to nine. Boy are my siblings multiplying.

The death of my friends fathers brought back memories of my own father’s passing. The blessing is that while physically, they may no longer be in this world, they are not far away from us in spirit. I have faith that the universe does not end at mortality. It is merely a step to something greater.

Little Miss Evelyn is a big sister. Little baby boy is still waiting on his moniker but I know that Jenni and Nathaniel will choose one that will suit my new adorable nephew. WooHoo! I get to by little boy toys!!!

I got myself signed up for the www.jamesriverwriters.com conference and will hopefully score a spot with an agent. I working like mad on my manuscript. I WILL HAVE A MANUSCRIPT READY FOR SUBMISSION BY THE CONFERENCE. Nothing like a little self imposed pressure. I’m almost finished the first draft and expect to start the second draft by the middle of June. I still have a bit of topic research to do but I feel that the story is going in the direction it should. I’ll have a better feel once I get draft one done.

This is the year for me to get my dreams on line. Only I can write my stories. I just have to get of my butt and do it. Slowly I’m eeking out more and more time. Fortunately, Quizz is becoming more and more patient. Sometimes I can get an entire page in before he drops something at me feet for attention. What is the saying? Life is what happens when you are making other plans? Yeah that describes my life. My inner artist and my inner pragmatist usually have fisticuffs over who wins. I’m negotiating detente so that I can embrace both sides and for a successful outcome. Does this mean that I have a split personality? 🙂 It only adds to the kaos and mayhem of my life and I love it!!

That’s it for now!

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Events

  1. Trang says:

    Hey L,

    Welcome the wonderful universe of manic writing:)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sis, I’m reading your blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

